The Alma Mater

IMG_7514IMG_7463IMG_7481This outfit is quintessentially summer, but in a very feminine way with pink and red tones, stripes, and the a-line shape. It was a particularly windy day, so this outfit was just about perfect for the temperature, though my hat kept threatening to blow off of my head. These photos were taken at my now-old school, UBC, as I’m officially an alumnus. I am definitely going to miss the beauty of this school; it’s located off a cliff, surrounded by ocean and mountains, complete with nude beach, rose garden (not yet in bloom), Haussmann-like sightlines, and probably the best cookies I’ve ever had in my life (shout out to Blue Chip Cookies at the Student Union Building!). Okay, that’s enough reminiscing. IMG_7494 IMG_7504 IMG_7443Top was my mom’s, skirt and purse from Club Monaco, belt is H&M, sandals are Aldo, hat from Paris, watch is Muji, bracelet is necklace from J Crew, sunglasses from Zara

My mom’s closet is my own vintage storehouse, and she pulled out this striped shirt, which is actually a quasi-crop top. It’s fascinating to know what my mom used to wear when she was young, if not straight up surprising. This shirt is also almost forty years old!! Isn’t it remarkable how well it held up? It’s also evidence that a simple striped top is truly timeless. Maybe there are some treasures awaiting in your parents’ closet!

6 comments
  1. Hi! I’m Cameron and I’m very interested in fashion. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

  2. This is such a cute, simple outfit! I wish my mom kept most of her old clothes… most of the items she’s saved over the years are ones with huge shoulder pads.

  3. LynAn said:

    Wonder ensemble perfect for summer! love it!

Leave a Reply

