The Summer Book Club

IMG_6880IMG_6857IMG_6844IMG_6842

I’ve read a lot of books. A lot. As an English literature major, I’m required to. Even my history courses often supplement fiction in book lists to give students a vicarious lived experience of a time otherwise inaccessible to us. Despite the numerous books I’ve read, there are still millions more to go. This summer, since I’m near-unemployed and need to entertain myself without spending money, I’m going to curate a summer book list for myself. If I don’t get through all the books, no big deal, I’m not in any rush. I actually abhor the idea of the speed-reading app, Spritz. Why would you want to rush through a good book? How are you supposed to contemplate the words behind the words if they’re literally whizzing past you, without even a chance to give a whole sentence its glorified due in its entirety? Writers spend agonizing hours choosing the right words in the right combination to best communicate what so often is inexpressible. Reading is not about efficiency, and books are not about quantity, but the quality that you take away from each book. But of course, I’m going off on a ranting tangent. So here is my list so far, though in particular order:

1.  The Colour Purple, Alice Walker

2.  Animal Farm, George Orwell

3. 100 Years of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez

4. On the Road, Jack Kerouac

5. Invisible Man, Ralph Ellison

6. The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood

7. White Teeth, Zadie Smith

8. Lolita, Vladimir Nabaokov

9. Norwegian Wood, Haruki Murakami

10. In Search of Lost Time, Marcel Proust

11. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

12. Moby Dick, Herman Manville

13. Beloved, Toni Morrison

14. The Road, Cormac McCarthy

15. Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe

I know, I know. I’ve never read Pride and Prejudice. But in my defense, I tried when I was younger but the language was blocking my ability to penetrate the words at the time. I’ve since read Northanger Abbey, which I found delightful, so I’m sure I can appreciate the classic this time. I tried to make the list as diverse and varied as I could, but I’d be happy to take in more suggestions! What are some of your favourite books? Leave a comment to let me know!

When I finish reading each book, I’ll write a small blurb about the impression it made on me. In the meantime, here are some books that left their marks on me: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Black Boy/American Hunger by Richard Wright, Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres (though I LOATH the ending), and The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

Happy reading!

3 comments
  1. When you begin to read White Teeth, please let me know! I bought the book and have been wanting to read it this summer as well. I would like to hear your thoughts. I actually saw the author give a speech, very interesting!

  2. Pride and Prejudice and Animal Farm are the only books on your list that I’ve read, and they’re both favourites. I’ve been meaning to read Lolita. Will you be sharing your reviews for each one? 🙂

Leave a Reply

