Flower, floral, flora

So I finally got around to seeing Sarah Polley’s sophomore directorial effort in Take This Waltz, which she also wrote. Having seen her first film, Away From Her, I think Polley is an extraordinarily talented director who creates everything from subtlety. Take This Waltz is a meditation on married life, desire, and love; however, like Michelle Williams’ other movie, Blue Valentine, it is very raw and realistic. This is what separates the film apart from other movies about faithfulness: it’s very real, and so possible that it hits very hard. This is where Williams’ incredible talent is on display; she’s entirely fearless in playing Margot who cannot control yet cannot decide what to do in an extremely realistic way. I have an affinity for these kinds of movies where the verisimilitude is often unbearable.

Of course, the other movie we’re all dying to see is The Dark Knight. I probably won’t see it for a couple more weeks until the craziness dies down a little. I also want to see Beasts of the Southern Wild before that exits all the theatres and hopefully Macbeth at our annual Shakespeare theatre company, Bard on the Beach.

Floral top is romwe, floral shorts and shoes are h&m, belt is my dad’s, purse is Club Monaco, necklace is my mom’s

Happy Friday and have a lovely weekend!

5 comments
  1. Gorgeous in floral!

    My husband is dying to see the Dark Knight, but not me. I somehow miss the old Batman movies.

  2. TNH said:

    Loved the floral shorts!! so cool!!

  3. I love your mismatched floral prints and the complimentary coral pops in your collar and shoes are beautiful. Gorgeous!

  4. alekmar said:

    it never ceases to amaze me when people pair two patterns and they actually look even better together than apart. im so happy i stumbled upon your blog through wordpress. would love for you to check out my new blog! i just started blogging on sunday and would appreciate any feedback i get, thanks!

    xxx
    the degenerate beauty queen

Leave a Reply

