Sunday Songs: Paradise Runway

YAY!! A new style post!!! Aren’t these boots crazy?!?! Is this enough EMOTION?!?! Okay, sorry about that. I just got really excited to post up something new. Anyways, these boots are approximately 35 years old which, on this blog, inevitably means they were from my parents. Thankfully, they were my mom’s and not my dad’s. I just can’t believe my mom used to wear them when she was young… which means, what the hell was she wearing with them?!?! Okay, sorry. I’ll stop with the exclamations and question marks. But seriously, let’s get a closer look at these…

It’s utterly incomprehensible to me that my fifty-plus year old mom used to wear these boots when she was young. If not worn carefully, you can very easily look like a street walker so I tried to wear them in a Nasty Gal-esque style.

Sweater is my boyfriend’s from Club Monaco, denim cutoffs are Seven for All Mankind, tights and fedora from Daiso, boots were my mom’s, clutch from Aldo, necklace from Nasty Gal.

So I finally got a hold of Mindy Kaling’s book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns). I had been meaning to read it for awhile and I’m so glad I finally did! It is written in the same style as Tina Fey’s Bossypants, but is a bit more casual in that I thought it was less insightful. That’s not to say it doesn’t have value, it’s just that the aim and tone of the book is more “I’m-like-your-awesome-hilarious-girlfriend-who-tells-it-like-it–is”. I totally recommend it because it’s extremely entertaining and honest. One of my favourite sentiments of the book is her and her parents’ work ethic. Why does everyone complain about how busy they are or how stressed they are? It’s just endurance and perseverance; doing what you need to do because you need to do it.

I also got a chance to catch my friend’s band do a show and they are absolutely amazing! I went to high school with the lead singer, and the drummer. They’ve really cultivated their sound and their own aesthetic and are truly going after what they want. I couldn’t be happier for them… unless they became super famous. Then I’d become even happier for them. Their band’s name is Paradise Runway and here’s a small snippet of some of their talent with their song “The Edge of the Earth”.

6 comments
  1. Ahh you are so lucky that your mum still has all of these cool clothes! Mine has nothing to pass on! 😦 I just have to scour vintage shops, which is a bit of an effort!

    • I know, I’m really lucky. I’ve only been vintage shopping a handful of times and have never found anything. My mom’s closet on the other hand is all over my blog!

      • Well, I remember you saying that you are in Manchester soon. There are a fair few vintage shops here, so maybe you’ll have more luck come next semester. Not that you need it with all of those lovely items to steal from your mum!

      • Ah, I’m excited to be there! I actually found a really great piece at one of the vintage stores today and I’ll put it up on the blog soon; my first truly vintage piece!

  2. Your mum must be very stylish! The boots are beautiful ❤ I can't believe my mum threw most of her cool stuff away because she thought they would never come back. 😦

    • That’s the thing about fashion, it always looks back and re-invents instead of revolutionizing. It makes me want to hoard all of my clothes that I have now for my future daughters!

Leave a Reply

