Sunday Spoils and Songs: After dark vapours have oppressed our plains

So me and the boy were at his campus as he was editing and I practiced some of my photography skills (which are severely lacking; the good photos he took). In his program, you work exclusively with real film which makes the work rooms super cool as they’re filled with rolls of film and old machines to edit and process the films.

Afterwards we went to The Water St. Cafe for lunch…

And then MacLeod’s which is my absolute favourite bookstore in Vancouver. If you’re a bibliophile, it’s simply a must. When you walk in, it’s just piles and piles of books everywhere which makes it seem disorganized but if you’re looking for something specific, you can always ask the people working. John Keats is one of my favourite poets so I picked up his Compete Poems anthology and a polemical work by Virginia Woolf, Three Guineas. Virginia Woolf is one of my idols; I think of Tina Fey as my modern-day Woolf. If you haven’t yet read A Room of One’s Own, I highly recommend it, especially if you’re a woman. (The cake pops are from my piano students, if you guys are reading this: thanks!!)

After dark vapours have oppressed our plains
For a long dreary season, comes a day
Born of gentle South, and clears away
From the sick heavens all unseemly stains.
The anxious month, relieving from its pains,
Take as a long-lost right the feel of May,
The eyelids with passing coolness play,
Like rose leaves with the drip of summer rains.
And calmest thoughts come round us – as of leaves
Budding – fruit ripening in stillness – autumn suns
Smiling at eve upon the quiet sheaves –
Sweet Sappho’s cheek – a sleeping infant’s breath –
The gradual sand that through an hour-glass runs –
A woodland rivulet – a Poet’s death.

— John Keats

John Keats was one of the second generation Romantics whom I love so much. I find his poetry to be so beautiful, and after studying him and his contemporaries a little bit more, they have come to mean a lot to me.

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

4 comments
  1. I love that you’re a lit-girl too. I even have a shirt that says “I love english literature”…haha, yeah I’m cool. I not only love Virginia Woolf’s work, but she’s just a plain interesting person to read about too. And how styling is your guy? Love that sweater he’s wearing!

    Alexandra xo

    http://tovogueorbust.com/

  2. Leonor said:

    such sweet photos:))

    Leonor
    thesparklinglemon.blogspot.com

  3. What’s those lollipop-thingys? πŸ™‚

    Visit me at theviri.wordpress.com
    I mostly write about trendy fashion shoes and glasses!
    You’re welcome! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

